New York Folklore Announces its 2023 Board of Directors

by Mar 30, 2023Blog0 comments

New York Folklore is governed by a Board of Directors that is drawn from the membership. Membership in the Board of Directors reflects the diversity and geography of New York State. A term of service on the board is two years. An individual can serve for three terms for a total of six years as a member of the Board of Directors. Three additional 2-year terms can be added if an individual becomes an officer.

Elections to the Board of Directors for New York Folklore are held in the first quarter of each year, with board service beginning with the first quarterly meeting of that year.

I am pleased to announce the results of this year’s election for Board of Directors for New York Folklore. They are the following for officers:

Wilfredo Morel, President. (Hudson Valley)
Wilfredo Morel is Vice-President for Immigrant Health for Sun River Health Care. He is also the Founder and Director of Arts 10566 in Peekskill. Wilfredo is a community organizer, advocate, and artist. He is a facilitator who works at addressing and bringing together people of diverse backgrounds to collaborate and break down barriers.

Maria Kennedy, Vice President. (NY Metro)
Maria Kennedy is an Assistant Teaching Professor of Folklore in the Department of American Studies at Rutgers University and is the Co-Director of the New Jersey Folk Festival.

Aaron Paige, Secretary. (Hudson Valley)
Aaron Paige is the Folk Arts Program Director for Arts Westchester.

Elected to a second, two-year term are the following members:
Evelyn D’Agostino (Finger Lakes) Affiliation: Xerox Corporation
Ed Y.J. Millar (Western New York) Affiliation: Castellani Art Museum of Niagara University
Mackenzie Kwok (Metro NY)
Will Walker (Mohawk Valley) Affiliation: University of Oneonta/Cooperstown Graduate Program in Museum Studies
Mira Johnson (Hudson Valley) Affiliation: Local Learning/Bronx Community College

Elected to a first, two year term is Devesh Chandra (Captial District) Affiliation: Williams College/Independent Musician
And Kay Turner has been elected to a one-year term to finish out her tenure on the Board of Directors.(NY Metro) Affiliation: New York University

With this election, I want to express my appreciation for retiring President, Tom van Buren, who served as Board Member and then President throughout a fourteen year commitment to New York Folklore. Tom helped to lay the groundwork for a fiscally strong and diverse organization. We are grateful for his leadership.

These new and returning board members join a group that also includes Jim Hall, Treasurer (Finger Lakes); Nada Odeh (Western New York); Sandra Bell (Metro NY); and Vicie Rolling (Southern Tier).

Members of New York Folklore’s Board of Directors are volunteers who are interested in furthering folk and traditional culture in New York State. We are always interested in hearing of individuals who wish to serve on the Board of Directors. Interested? Please contact us to begin the conversation!